Why I love my Amex Gold card — and will keep it for years to come

Asking me to pick my favorite credit card would be like asking a father of 22 to pick his favorite child. And yes, I do have that many open, active credit cards (but only one child).

However, there’s one card that I use more frequently than any other in my wallet — and that’s my American Express® Gold Card.

Here’s why the Amex Gold has been (and will remain) a mainstay in my wallet.

Lucrative earning rates

The most appealing feature of the card is a pair of lucrative bonus categories:

  • 4 points per dollar spent at restaurants worldwide
  • 4 points per dollar spent at U.S. supermarkets (on up to $25,000 in purchases every year, then 1 point per dollar)
THE POINTS GUY

I often eat out with my family, but we also love to cook at home. While it sometimes seems like our grocery bill is high, we never come anywhere near the Amex Gold’s yearly spending cap ($25,000 a year, equating to $480 a week.) And since the card waives foreign transaction fees (see rates and fees), I can confidently swipe it at restaurants abroad to still earn those bonus points.

These bonus categories alone make the Amex Gold a perfect fit for me.

Read more: The best credit cards for dining

Uber and Grubhub benefits

Beyond the everyday earning rates, I’m a big fan of the card’s extra benefits.

I’m not a power Uber user, but we easily find ways to use the $10 in Uber Cash each month that the Amex Gold offers, which is valid for Uber rides or Uber Eats orders in the U.S. I also typically treat myself to lunch through a participating dining partner to receive up to $10 in statement credits each month. Enrollment is required for select benefits.

By maxing out both benefits, I effectively reduce the annual fee on the card from $250 (see rates and fees) to just $10.

Targeted offers

In my opinion, one of the most underutilized perks of travel cards is access to targeted discounts and offers. And of the major issuers, Amex Offers are my favorite.

In the past three years, I’ve received a total of $265 in statement credits by adding these offers to my Amex Gold card. In addition, I’ve been targeted for a 20,000-point bonus for activating Amex Pay Over Time on the card (worth $400 to me), and I also referred a friend to the card earlier in the year, resulting in a one-time bonus of 20,000 points along with three months of an extra 5 points per dollar on U.S. supermarket purchases (since expired).

These offers help boost my Membership Rewards points balance.

Related: How to refer friends and earn points, miles or cash credits

Valuable transfer partners

Finally, I love redeeming American Express Membership Rewards points. We value Amex points at 2 cents apiece here at TPG, thanks to the program’s valuable transfer partners — including Air Canada Aeroplan, Avianca LifeMiles and British Airways Avios.

Aerial view of the Gran Via shopping street in Madrid
I’ve flown to Madrid in comfort multiple times using my Amex points. MATEJ KASTELIC/SHUTTERSTOCK.COM

Earlier this year, I booked round-trip, business-class flights on Philippine Airlines from the U.S. to Manila’s Ninoy Aquino International Airport (MNL) by transferring just 95,000 points to ANA Mileage Club. These flights would’ve set me back more than $6,000 had I paid out of pocket.

I also frequently convert my Amex points to Avios to book Iberia business-class tickets to Spain. On off-peak dates, nonstop flights are just 42,500 Avios from nearby Miami International Airport (MIA) to Adolfo Suárez Madrid-Barajas Airport (MAD) — though they start at just 34,000 Avios from Boston Logan International Airport, Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport (ORD), New York’s John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) and Washington’s Dulles International Airport (IAD).

In fact, thanks to the current 30% transfer bonus, you can snag these flights for as little as 27,000 Amex points each way.

Related: The best American Express cards

Bottom line

I get a ton of value from my 22 travel cards, but the Amex Gold card stands out. I love earning 4 points per dollar on a large part of my everyday spending, and Amex’s transfer partners help me and my family travel the world. The added perks and targeted offers are just icing on the cake.

If you’re not yet a cardholder, you can apply today to earn 60,000 Membership Rewards points after you spend $4,000 on purchases on your new card in your first six months of card membership. However, you should also check the CardMatch tool to see if you’re targeted for an even higher welcome bonus (offer subject to change at any time).


Official application link: American Express Gold Card


For rates and fees of the Amex Gold card, click here.

from The Points Guy https://thepointsguy.com/news/why-i-love-my-amex-gold-card/

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started